Working Groups

The Nencki Institute consists of five Departments subdivided further into laboratories, some independent laboratories, a library, scientific publications section, the animal house and administration units.

Structure of The Nencki Institute

Scientific Departments and Laboratories


Department of Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology

Head: Leszek Kaczmarek

Laboratory of Calcium Binding Proteins
Head: Anna Filipek

Laboratory of Epileptogenesis
Head: Katarzyna Łukasiuk

Laboratory for Mechanisms of Transport Through Biomembranes
Head: Katarzyna A. Nałęcz

Laboratory of Neurobiology
Head: Leszek Kaczmarek

Laboratory of Neuroplasticity
Head: Magorzata Kossut

Laboratory of Cell Biophysics
Head: Jakub Włodarczyk

Laboratory of Molecular Basis of Behavior
Head: Katarzyna Radwańska

Laboratory of Spatial Memory
Head: Rafał Czajkowski

Department of Neurophysiology

Head: Małgorzata Skup

Laboratory of Ethology
Head: Ewa Joanna Godzińska

Laboratory of Limbic System
Head: Stefan Kasicki

Laboratory of Molecular and Systemic Neuromorphology
Head: Grzegorz Wilczyński

Laboratory of Neuromuscular Plasticity
Head: Urszula Sławińska

Laboratory of Neuropsychology
Head: Elżbieta Szeląg

Laboratory of Psychophysiology
Head: Anna Grabowska

Laboratory of Reinnervation Processes
Head: Julita Czarkowska-Bauch

Laboratory of Visual System
Head: Andrzej Wróbel

Laboratory of Preclinical Studies in Neurodegenerative Diseases
Head: Grażyna Niewiadomska

Laboratory of Neuroinformatics
Head: Daniel Wójcik

Laboratory of Emotions Neurobiology
Head: Ewelina Knapska

Laboratory of Neurobiology of Vision
Head: Wioletta Waleszczyk

Neurobiology Center

Supporting Units

The Animal House
Head: Aleksandra Bartelik

Laboratory of Cytometry
Head: Katarzyna Piwocka

Laboratory of Electron Microscopy
Head: Elżbieta Wyroba

Information Technology Unit
Head: Mirosław Sikora


Office of International Relations and Project Management
Head: Anna Sadlik-Paskalec

Head: Jan Bienias

Publications Office
Head: Krzysztof Turlejski


Technology Transfer and IP Management